Department of Mathematics


Mathematics has exerted a fascination on human mind since the beginning of recorded history. Scholars and Philosophers of all ages were convinced of the importance of the subject. To the world of Mathematics some believed in counting numbers as God made, all the rest being a futile attempt on the part of mankind to improve on.

According to Albert Einstein, "Nature is the realization of simplest conceivable mathematical ideas" and Hilbert says that most powerful creation of the human mind is an infinite mathematics because no other question has ever moved so profoundly the spirit of man Winger claims that the miracle of appropriateness of language of mathematics for the formulation of laws of physics is a wonderful gift which we neither understand nor deserve. Ibne-Khaldun, a Muslim thinker, says that the study of mathematics for the human mind is like the effect of detergent which washes away dirt and cleans stains from clothes.

Mathematics is considered to be the queen of all sciences. No man can think of development and prosperity without strong knowledge of commerce, computer and common discipline of science which is solely based on Mathematics.

The Post-graduate classes in Mathematics were introduced in 1999 under the Chairmanship of Professor Ch. Asghar Ali while the B.S (Hons.) classes were started in 2010.

In spite of limited resources and shortage of the faculty members, our devoted staff has shown excellent results. Eventually it is our great honour that a remarkable number of students have completed the M.Phil / PhD programme from renowned institutions.

Faculty of Mathematics Department


Photo Name Qualification Designation Email
Not Available Mr. M. Habib M.Sc (P.U) Head of Department/Associate Professor m_habib@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr. Malik Anjum Javed Ph.D (GCU) Associate Professor anjumjaved@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr.Mehmood Aalam Ph.D (Technical University Germany) Assistant Professor mehmoodalam@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Liaqat Ali M.Phil (GCU) Assistant Professor liaqatali@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Asif Iqbal Kazmi M.Sc (P.U) Lecturer asifiqbal@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Ajmal M.Sc (P.U) Lecturer m_ajmal@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Ali Raza Malik M.Sc (P.U) Lecturer aliraza@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. M. Saeed Ahmad M.Sc M.Phil (Lahore University) Lecturer saeedahmad@mao.edu.pk