Department of English

In pursuance of the pioneering initiative of establishing the Department of Post-graduate studies in English at M.A.O College, Lahore in the early seventies by Prof. Siraj-ud-Din and Dr. Imdad Hussain, the college administration revived M.A. (English] classes in 1993 after a lapse of twenty one years. This stupendous task was undertaken as challenge by Prof. Kh. Mansoor Sarwar and Prof. Hayat Muhammad Khan. The hurdles,, however, in the way of such a task appeared insurmountable in the beginning but given the will, determination and dedication of the faculty, the Department has succeeded in creating its own place amongst the top-notch departments of the province.

During the last fifteen years, since its revival, the Department has produced several successful students, both girls and boys, who are at present serving the nation in various capacities in different institutions while several others are waiting in the wings. Second shift classes /evening program were launched in 2004.

Faculty of English Department


Photo Name Qualification Designation Email
Not Available Abdul Majid Malik M.A (P.U) Head of Department/Professor abdulmajid@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Ayub Altaf M.A (P.U) Associate Professor ayubaltaf@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Ahmad Aleem M.A (P.U) Associate Professor ahmedaleem@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Amjad Afzal Butt M.A (P.U) Associate Professor amjadafzal@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Nadeem Fazal M.A (P.U) Associate Professor nadeemfazal@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Agha Rehan Gul M.A (P.U) Associate Professor agharehangul@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Tariq Zubair M.A English Associate Professor tariqzubair@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Burhan Ahmad M.A (P.U) Associate Professor burhanahmad@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Wasem Ch. M.Phil (Ling) Associate Professor waseemchaudhary@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Abdul Rauf M.A (P.U) Assistant Professor abdul.rauf@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Zafar Maqbool Khan M.Phil Assistant Professor zafarmaqbool@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Abid Latif M.Phil (Ling) Assistant Professor abidlatif@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Ahsan Mukhtar M.Phil (UMT) Assistant Professor ahsanmukhtar@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Abdul Saboor M.Phil. (Iit) Assistant Professor abdulsaboor@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Tahir Masood M.A (P.U) Assistant Professor tahirmasood@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Waseem Afzal M.Phil (Ling) Assistant Professor waseemafzal@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Asif Usmani M.Phil (Ling) Assistant Professor asifusmani@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Aleem Tafazzul M.Phil (Ling) Assistant Professor aleemtafazzul@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Shamim Ahmad M.Phil (Ling) Lecturer shamimahmad@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Azhar Javaid Shad M.A (P.U) Lecturer azharjavaid@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Afzal M.Phil (Ling) Lecturer muhammadafzal@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mrs. Sara Khan M.Phil (Lit) Lecturer sarakhan@mao.edu.pk