Department of Chemistry


Govt. M.A.O College was established in 1933 at Amritsar and shifted to present building in 1947. Chemistry Department was established in the very beginning. Various personalities headed the Department. These include; Prof Dr. M. A. Azeem, Prof. Mian Muhammad Bashir, Prof. Muhammad Naseer Khan, Prof. Hameed Mustafa Butt, Prof. Saeedullah Farooqi, Prof. Maksud-ul-Hasan Bokhari, Prof. Ch. Akhtar Ali , Prof. Shabbir Hussain, Prof. Ch. Ghafoor Ahmed, Prof. Ch. Muhammad Iqbal, Prof. Javed Akhtar Saleem, Prof. Syed Ali Raza Naqvi, Prof. Sarwar Najeeb Alam Janjua and Prof. Dr. Ta hseen Razzaq. At present Prof. Muhammad Akbar is working as Chairperson of the Department. Present faculty is comprised of highly qualified members.

There are well equipped laboratories with necessary chemicals and apparatus. In order to fulfill the need of BS Chemistry, Government is going to provide new instruments very soon.

Faculty of Chemistry Department


Photo Name Qualification Designation Email
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Akbar M.Phil (G.C.U) Head of Department/Associate Professor muhammadakbar@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Sohail Yousaf M.Sc. (PU) Associate Professor sohailyousaf@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr. Waqar Nasir Ph.D Associate Professor waqarnasir@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr. Azher Saeed Ph.D (P.U) Associate Professor azharsaeed@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Younas Farooqi M.Phil Associate Professor younasfarooqi@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Shakeel Ahmad M.Phil Assistant Professor shakeelahmad@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Muhammad Abbas M.Sc Lecturer muhammadabbas@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr.Muhammad Ahmad M.Sc Lecturer muhammadahmad@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr. Kaniz Rubab Ph.D Lecturer kanizrubab@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mrs. Shakila Bukhtiar M.Phil Lecturer shakilabukhtiar@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mrs. Amna Rehman M.Sc Lecturer amnarehman@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Ms. Sumara Amanat M.Phil Lecturer sumaraamanat@mao.edu.pk