Applied Psycholgy Department


Psychology is a science of human behavior and thus its pivotal role in understanding complex mechanisms underlying human behavior and improving the quality of human life cannot be underestimated. In realization of this fact Prof. Karamat Hussain Jaffery (an eminent Psychologist of his time and the Principal of this college) established the Department of Psychology in late (1960’s) with the cooperation of Prof. Manzoor Ahmad who remained as head of the Department for many years. Later, in view of public interest and demand, with the efforts of the two ex-Principals; Prof Zafar Iqbal Cheema and Prof. Maqsood-ul-Hasan Bukhari, MSc in Psychology was started in this college in 1998.

The remarkable contribution of Prof Bader Ismail (First Head of the Postgraduate Department of Psychology) in justifying and strengthening the existence of this department will never be forgotten. He, with limited resources and young faculty, but with devotion, commitment and hard work produced excellent academic results. Due to continuous demand of students and parents, the seats in MSc Classes were increased and since 2004, evening/second shift classes have also been in progress. Later, the preceding heads of this department, Prof. Abbas Ali Asim, Prof. Ch. Khlaid Pervez, Prof. Tauqeer Saleem Khan, Prof. Zafar Jamal and Dr. Nadeem Ahmed Pirzada, have really worked hard to uplift the academic and professional repute of this department across the country.

The Department prides itself on its academic excellence and achievement of its graduates. It provides high class teaching in several important areas of this discipline such as, Behavioral Neuroscience, Abnormal and Clinical Psychology, Developmental and Child Psychology, Guidance and Counseling, Industrial and Organizational Psychology, Experimental Psychology, Psychological Testing, Forensic Psychology and Positive Psychology. In addition, training is also provided to students through our “Student Counseling and & Assessment Services" and this prepares the students for careers in diverse fields and after post-graduation, psychology graduates are serving in almost all related areas; Educational Institutions, Special Education Centers, Hospitals, Armed Forces, Counseling and Guidance Centers, Selection Boards, Research Organizations, Civil Services, Business Enterprises, Industrial Concerns, Social Welfare Agencies, Police Department, Prisons, Rescue 1122,NGOs, Provincial and Federal Public Service Commission, Sports and Atomic Energy commission.

Faculity of Applied Psycholgy Department


Photo Name Qualification Designation Email
Not Available Dr. Shabbir Ahmed Ph.D (U.K) Head of Department/Associate Professor shabbirrana@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr.Amjad Tufail Ph.D (Psychology) U.E Assistant Professor amjadtufail@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr. Fariha Iram Rizvi Ph.D (Psychology) (P.U) Assistant Professor farihairam@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Dr. Ayesha Sheraz Ph.D (Psychology) (P.U) Assistant Professor ayeshasheraz@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mrs. Ambreen Anjum M.Phil Psychology (P.U) Assistant Professor ambreenanjum@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mrs. Safia Sultana M.Phil Psychology (G.C.U) Assistant Professor sofiasultana@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Saleem Gul M.Sc. Psychology (P.U) Lecturer saleemgul@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mrs. Tayyaba Noor M.Sc. Psychology (P.U) Lecturer tayyabanoor@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Waqas Hassan M.Phil Psychology (PU) Lecturer waqashassan@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Sohail Sheikh Ph.D Associate Professor sohailsheikh@mao.edu.pk
Not Available Mr. Abdul Rauf M.Phil Lecturer abdulrauf@mao.edu.pk